New The Blasters: Mandatory View larger

Mandatory: The Best of The Blasters

New product

Greatest hits with five bonus tracks.

CD product link


More details

More info

Track list:

  1. American Music
  2. Real Rock Drive
  3. Flat Top Joint
  4. Marie Marie
  5. No Other Girl
  6. I’m Shakin’
  7. Border Radio
  8. So Long Baby Goodbye
  9. Hollywood Bed
  10. Blue Shadows
  11. One Bad Stud
  12. Red Rose
  13. Jubilee Train
  14. Long White Cadillac
  15. Trouble Bound
  16. Dark Night
  17. Little Honey
  18. Samson and Delilah
  19. Help You Dream
  20. Common Man
  21. Kathleen

The 21-song set includes the band’s best-known tracks from their first four albums, alongside deep cuts and two songs originally featured on the soundtrack to director Walter Hill’s 1984 cult film, Streets of Fire. From the outset of their career, with such songs as "Marie Marie" to "Border Radio," it was clear Grammy® winner Dave Alvin would be a songwriter to be reckoned with, and brother Phil brings an unparalleled knowledge of American roots music, giving the band a rock-solid musical foundation. Mandatory’s track list was chosen with the full cooperation of the band and will be available on CD and digital. Renowned music journalist Chris Morris has contributed new liner notes, calling Mandatory “a definitive sampling of the Blasters’ recorded work from their 1980-1985 heyday.”

The Blasters:
Phil Alvin-Vocals, Guitar, Harmonica
Dave Alvin-Lead Guitar
John Bazz-Bass
Bill Bateman-Drums
Gene Taylor-Piano
Lee Allen-Tenor Saxophone
Steve Berlin-Baritone Saxophone

With special guests:
The Jordanaires-Background Vocals (Track 15)
Stan Lynch-Percussion (Track 16)
David Hidalgo-Mandolin (Track 17)
Larry Taylor-Stand Up Bass (Track 17)
Richard Greene-Violin (Track 17)
Herman Johnson & Bobby King-Background Vocals (Track 18)

Tracks 1-3 originally appeared on American Music (Rollin’ Rock Records, 1980)
Tracks 4-9 originally appeared on The Blasters (Slash Records, 1981)
Tracks 10-11 originally appeared on Streets of Fire: Music from the Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (MCA Records, 1984)
Tracks 11-14 originally appeared on Non-Fiction (Slash/Warner Bros., 1983)
Tracks 15-20 originally appeared on Hard Line (Slash/Warner Bros., 1985)
Track 21 Hard Line outtake, originally appeared on The Blasters Collection (Slash/Warner Bros., 1991)