New Mark Farner: Rock 'N Roll Soul, Live 1989 View larger

Mark Farner: Rock 'N Roll Soul, Live 1989

New product

Former member of Grand Funk Railroad.

CD amazon product link

LP amazon product link

DVD amazon product link


More details

More info

CD track list:

  1. Are You Ready
  2. Rock ’N’ Roll Soul 
  3. Footstompin’ Music 
  4. Airborne Ranger 
  5. Judgement Day Blues 
  6. Some Kind of Wonderful 
  7. Paranoid 
  8. Come To Jesus 
  9. Mean Mistreater 
  10. Must Have Been Love 
  11. Bad Time 
  12. I’m Your Captain/Closer to Home 
  13. Heartbreaker 
  14. Isn’t It Amazing 
  15. The Loco-Motion 

LP track list:


  1. Are You Ready 
  2. Rock ’N’ Roll Soul 
  3. Footstompin’ Music 
  4. Some Kind of Wonderful 
  5. Mean Mistreater 


  1. Bad Time 
  2. I’m Your Captain/Closer to Home 
  3. Heartbreaker 
  4. The Loco-Motion 
Legendary all-American frontman and guitarist Mark Farner was the engine that pulled the original Grand Funk Railroad repeatedly to the top of the charts in the 1970s. At age 71, Farner commands the stage with the same intensity and outpouring of love as he did in the summer of '69 when the band's debut album was released. After the 1969 Atlanta Pop Festival put Grand Funk on the fast track, the band topped the Billboard charts twice with both the anthem "We're an American Band" and "The Loco-Motion". They then followed that and hit the top 10 in 1975 with "Some Kind of Wonderful" and "Bad Time". The band broke up in '76 and sporadically reunited over the years.

In August 1989 Mark participated in the 20th anniversary of the Woodstock festival at Cal State Dominguez Hills in Carson, California. The "20 Years After" festival featured Edgar Winter, Canned Heat, Iron Butterfly, Sha Na Na and others. The fifteen-track set included ten Grand Funk classics. The full concert is available on CD and DVD with a vinyl version of nine GFR tracks. Some 50 years later something magical still happens when Farner takes the stage. His voice is still strong and on key with his guitar playing still slick and lightning quick. He loves playing live where he can connect to his fans and people of all ages. This concert captures that continued devotion to his iconic stage shows.


MARK FARNER-first lead, rhythm guitars & lead vocals
ARNIE VILCHES-second lead, rhythm guitars & vocals
LAWRENCE BUCKNER-bass & vocals
MIKE BLAIR-keyboards & vocals
MIKE MAPLE-drums & vocals

Recorded on August 19, 1989, at Cal State Dominguez Hills in Carson, California as part of the “Woodstock 20 Years After” festival.