New Gene Clark: The Lost Studio Sessions--1964-1982 View larger

Gene Clark: The Lost Studio Sessions--1964-1982

New product

Rare studio recordings by Rock 'N' Roll hall of fame inductee Gene Clark, who was a member of The Byrds.

Vinyl available exclusively at independent retailers for Record Store Day, April 20, 2024



More details

More info

Track List:

  1. The Way I Am 
  2. I’d Feel Better 
  3. That Girl 
  4. A Worried Heart 
  5. If There’s No Love )
  6. Back Street Mirror 
  7. Don’t Let It Fall Through
  8. Back To The Earth Again
  9. The Lighthouse
  10. The Awakening Within
  11. Sweet Adrienne
  12. Walking Through This Lifetime
  13. The Sparrow
  14. Only Yesterday’s Gone
  15. She Darked The Sun 
  16. Roll In My Sweet Baby’s Arms
  17. She Don’t Care About Time
  18. Don’t That Road Look Rough And Rocky 
  19. Bars Have Made A Prisoner Out Of Me 
  20. One Hundred Years From Now 
  21. The Letter 
  22. Still Feeling Blue 
  23. No Memories Hangin’ Round 
  24. I’ll Feel A Whole Lot Better

Beyond his achievements as a founding member of the Byrds, Rock & Roll Hall of Fame inductee Gene Clark was one of the most prolific singer/songwriters of the rock era. This collection brings together studio sessions from Clark's pre-Byrds days in early 1964, alongside studio recordings from 1967-70 that feature Hugh Masekela on horns with arrangements by Leon Russell. Also on hand is an entire album’s side of tracks with the Flying Burrito Brothers, including one song from 1970 with Gram Parsons, Chris Hillman, and Bernie Leadon. Finally, this set features five songs recorded as part of the Nyteflyte reunion in 1982 with Clark’s former bandmates Chris Hillman and Michael Clarke.
Since his passing in 1991, many of Clark's home demos and various live tracks have been released, but actual studio sessions were rare until this album, The Lost Studio Sessions: 1964-1982, first surfaced on Sierra Records in 2016. These "lost" recordings are presented with the best possible sound quality mastered from the original analog monaural, stereo, and multi-track tapes. The Lost Studio Sessions is essentially an alternate history of the artist’s most productive years as a songwriter. The CD set includes a 36-page booklet with rare photos, production and recording information, and extensive liner notes by compilation producer John Delgatto and Clark experts Johnny Rogan, John Einarson, and Domenic Priore.

Tracks 15-19 recorded in 1970 and 1972 with the Flying Burritos Brothers.
Tracks 20-24 recorded in 1982 by Clark, Chris Hillman, and Michael Clarke for the Nyteflyte reunion.